FPS Creator Bonanza And Serendipity

I ordered the FPS Creator Bonanza shortly before I left for E3. I’ve been playing around with it for a little while now, and it’s part of the reason I didn’t post yesterday.

It’s turned out to be quite a good deal.

1: FPS Creator itself is available for free in a few different ways, but all come with strings attached and no physical disc. A physical disc is part of the deal.

2: Also part of the deal is the most vital one: the DVDs. Although FPS Creator is pretty strightforward to use, the tutorial DVDs are very instructive and comprehensive.

3: I haven’t gotten around to trying out the extra model sets I downloaded as part of the deal, or the free sample models you can get from the TGC Store, but I assume they’re of the same quality as the default models, which are fairly nice.

So far, I only have a couple of complaints. The default sounds aren’t great, and there aren’t any default scripts for companion characters (I’m not asking for L4D super-AIs, just NPCs that will attack hostile NPCs instead of the player).

The FPS Creators levels are made from “segments”, which has it’s upsides and it’s downsides and deserves a post all it’s own. It’s particularly interesting because it seems that FPS Creator levels are assembled the same way as the FPS tutorial in Game Maker. Additionally, the Dark GDK can easily handle levels exported from FPS Creator. This means that, theoretically, I could get Visual Studio to do exactly what I’m trying to get Game Maker to do in my current prototype, except it’ll look a million times nicer and be proper 3D. Going from theory to a finished result is probably going to be a giant pain, but I do have a whole year to figure it out.

Plus, if it works, I’ll have a huge library of 3D models to work with. But we’ll see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

