The MMORPG Project

Right now, as I type, I have all the tools programming-wise to create a Massively Multiplayer Online Roleplaying Game. Which is pretty neat.

No really: Check this out.

I’ve been interested in the Dark GDK for a while, ever since I heard they were working on it. (I’ve had Dark Basic and Dark Basic Professional for years now but never had the time to do anything worthwhile with them, but I have been keeping up with The Game Creators news.) Until recently, the Dark GDK didn’t work with a C++ compiler that I had, but now that I have the Express Edition of Visual C++ 2008 (I was using 2005) and upgraded my DirectX drivers, I can use the Dark SDK. Then, between the Dark SDK and the Microsoft .Net Framework thingamabob I installed with VC++2008, I actually have everything I need on my laptop, right now, to code a MMORPG.

Of course, I don’t have the art resources, the sound resources, the servers, the corporate infrastructure, a website, or even the training (yet) to start to program such a massive beast. But nevertheless, the first piece is in place!

In all seriousness, though, I do plan to do some serious playing around with the Dark SDK over the summer after I learn enough via Structured Programming class to actually make something decent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

