Portal HL2 Fun!

Since the truth about my earlier post has been correctly guessed, I can now reveal that I was indeed playing Portal with the HL2 maps. I have plenty more fun screenshots to share, now that the cat’s out of the bag!

The second odd thing I noticed when I first loaded the HL2 levels in Portal (after G Man’s silence) was this strange sight:

Portal doesn’t acknowledge HL2 chapter titles, apparently. Silly GlaDOS, I guess she’s never played HL2.

Hey! Chell has escaped the Aperture Science Enrichment Center and found some neat toys! And so has an infinite number of her parallel universe counterparts!

Oh, you can’t be serious. I am NOT picking up that can again. Anyway, I have a NEW way of solving this one! I could just portal past him, but that would be far too easy.

Instead we put a blue portal under the soda can…

And an orange portal above the trash can! The guard is unimpressed by this innovation, but he lets me pass.

CHELL’S AQUARIUM TUTORIAL

Chell likes watching fish swim around. So she has decided to catch some fish and put them in an aquarium.

Step 1: place a portal in the bottom of the aquarium. Placing one on the walls or ceiling will allow the fish to swim out too easily.

Place another portal right near where you are going to catch your fishies.

Using the Zero Point Energy Fishing Rod, grab a fish and hold it firmly but gently.

Drop the fish into the aquarium.

Go back to the front of the aquarium and watch your fish swimming around! They are very interested in their owners and will frequently swim right up to the glass and take your picture.

THE HIGHLAND FLING

A relatively easy trick is to use your m4d p0rt4l sk1llz to fling yourself onto this lamp. A good deal of the objects that you’re not supposed to ever touch without cheating can’t be touched if you cheat and run up to them. (Like the first scripted gunship in Ep1) But this lamp is nice and solid.

Hey, Dr. Breen! Well I guess he just doesn’t want to talk to Chell.

UNPROVOKED CRUELTY

This guard is standing there all peaceful. He’s one of the few guards who won’t beat you up just for walking up to him. So he’s the perfect patsy for a test of Portal physics in HL2 levels.

Hey, I wonder if grenades go through portals? I’ll try to drop one in and see what happens. They do! Oh wait, it’s landed right behind that poor guard. Run awa-

The explosion happens too fast to get a good shot of it, but here’s the gory results of my experiment. Eli was right. The Portal Gun is far too powerful a weapon and must be destroyed.

They just have to pry it out of my cold, dead hands first!

Remember, kids: Portal Guns don’t kill people. I do.

HL2 is fun, but Portal HL2 is exponentially more fun.

Oooooh, I just realized I have to try out the portal gun in Ravenholm! Can I shoot a Death Frizbee through a portal? So much science to do, so little time to do it in…

This entry was posted in Nifty. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

