I’m not dead!

I’m not dead!

But I’m going to be “quiet” for a while. Of course, those of you who might read this and aren’t on the PEG forums or the mailing lists I frequent might be mystified as to why I’m pointing out that I’m not going to update my weblog for a while since not updating my weblog seems to be my modus operandi.

Well, at least for the next few weeks, I’m going to be quiet on the forums and lists too. I’ll still be playtesting Iron Dynasty and posting reports when I can, but that’ll be pretty much it. The reasons for this is mostly personal, but essentially I simply need to take a break from being online so much and get some Real Life stuff done.

Including catching up on reading various things, doing research and psyching up for a big “run” of typing and actually completing the novel I’ve had little progress on this year.

Including pitching the novel to publishers once it’s finished and maybe working on the next one.

Including finally Ebaying a bunch of old (mostly White Wolf) books I’ve been meaning to sell.

Including a bunch of other stuff.

But not Internet stuff. Origins is over, the Nefarious Plan is completed (http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8282), I’ll soon be done the last few Variant Arcane Background posts I intend to do for now (http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7772), and I need a break.

So I’ll “see” you all later.

P.S. In other news, I’ve finally seen Superman Returns and Nacho Libre. I liked them both, but I think I liked Nacho Libre better. I know it’s a bit of an apples/oranges comparison because Nacho has no powers whatsoever and the Superman film wasn’t intended as a pure comedy, but both have many common themes.
I liked NL better mostly for personal reasons. I actually identify with Ignacio more than Clark Kent: I don’t actually have powers either. I’m also currently stuck in a dead-end position but have aspirations to become much more. I too know “a buttload of crap about the Bible” (one of my favorite lines from NL).
But more than that, Ignacio, is a more noble person than Superman is, as presented in Superman returns. I won’t spoil it here, but regardless of how a certain character was able to do a certain thing, the very end of the movie implied that Superman definitely had “premarital hanky panky”* with Lois Lane. This is out of character for the DC Comics Superman, and pretty much any version of Superman that we’ve seen thus far. Ever since Buffy, I’ve been in the habit of ignoring how much hanky-panky the heroes are indulging in because despite Joss Whedon obviously having a bit of a different view of fornication than I, he’s still a darn good writer.
But on the other hand, Ignacio never wants to sleep with Sister Encarnacion, or at least that’s not how he expresses his desire. He says instead that he wants to marry her and raise a family with her. Furthermore, he’s not about to give up his vows to the church unless she is also willing to do so. He might not be the greatest hero ever portrayed on the silver screen, but he’s one of the most pious Christian characters I’ve seen portrayed in a public movie theater in several years, for that, and for other reasons. (Okay, so he goes out and becomes a wrestler in secret when he knows the rest of the monastary wouldn’t approve, but that’s settled by the end of the film.)
In other words, Ignacio is closer to the ideal wrestling-preist than Superman is to the ideal Superman. That’s why I enjoyed Nacho Libre more.

*Sorry, currently reading through the Roomies/It’s Walky archives. http://www.itswalky.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

