The obligatory movie reviews

Life has been a bit boring lately. The rodent problem has been solved (if there are any mice left, they’re hiding really well). A few exciting things have happened on the Savage Worlds playtest group, but I’m not allowed to talk about any of that. Yet.

I haven’t been to any movies since I started this weblog, but let me tell you of a few I’ve seen recently.

Spiderman 2: Yeah, you’ve probably read a review or two already. Let me just say that this is even better than the first one. That’s all you really need to know. That and Dr. Curt Connors (the one armed guy) is really The Lizard in the comics. Very nice touch. Now if they’d just make a Marvel Team Up movie with characters from every single Marvel movie in the last several years, I’d be ecstatic. That or a Fantastic Four movie that doesn’t suck like the vacuum of space*.

I Robot: The best movie Will Smith has ever made, with the possible exception of Ali, which I have not seen yet. It’s also the best movie based on an Asimov book that’s ever been made, including Bicentennial Man, which I also loved. It’s not really based on the book at all, but if you’re read Asimov’s short stories it’s like they took about a dozen of those and smooshed them together and added a few subtle Foundation elements. You know lame Wild Wild West was? I Robot is as cool as W.W.W. was lame.

Signs: I finally got around to seeing this one just before I saw The Village. It was even better than I expected it to be. Just like with The Sixth Sense and Unbreakable, it becomes a completely different movie when the last twists are revealed. Much as I also loved The Village, I think this is a (slightly) superior film.

The Village: M Night Shyamalan is Alfred Hitchcock. This is indesputable proof. Or maybe he’s Rod Serling. Or both. Don’t ask me how that works. Just go and watch it while it’s still in theaters. It’s better than anything else currently available, with the possible exception of Hero, which I haven’t seen yet.

*Yes, I know that space doesn’t “suck” anything, it’s actually the air pressure that pushes outwards, physics geek!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

